Home

Stay-cation Fun

October 7, 2011

I’m still here, I’ve just been on vacation for a week or so. Hubs and I decided to be tourists in our own city. We have tried some great new restaurants, found some new hangouts, and uncovered more ideas than we could get to in a week. Tonight we have tickets to the first hockey of the season, so I’m sporting the team color on my head (of course).

What we’ve done this week:

  • Tried two new restaurants and several faves
  • Went thrifting and found a vintage mod dress for tiny yellow bird
  • Doodled in the sketchbook (I’ll scan and upload when I get back to the office)
  • Had a picnic in the park
  • Visited the art museum
  • Hit up a neighboring town’s Oktoberfest
  • Took long naps
  • Read for hours in Starburcks
  • Bought hockey tickets
  • Visited a friend’s newborn (!!!!!)
  • Went bowling with old friends
  • Walked through the downtown farmer’s market
  • Watched a football game at our favorite sports bar

Things we didn’t get to (or are still planning this weekend)

  • Rent bicycles and take the trail all the way into the next town
  • See good friends from China (tomorrow!)
  • Spend a day in Tryon
  • Scout out some artists cooperatives
  • Visit the new moonshine distillery

Love you all! More blogging to follow, I promise!

P.S. I promise I’m not sad and pensive as this self portrait would have you believe. I’ve been unexplainably happy for weeks. Maybe it’s the thought of January coming and with it, a drop to part time. 🙂

2 Responses to “Stay-cation Fun”

  1. Lily Says:

    Making me want to take a week off! The dress fits great!!! Oh, what new restaurants did you guys try?!

  2. Lana Dixon Says:

    I want to go to another hockey game with ya’ll!


Leave a comment