Home

On Wearing Wigs in Public

September 10, 2011

Hubs and I were walking down the hot sidewalk in July when we saw it. It was on a mannequin head in a vintage store window. Now, it was not love at first sight. I tried it on as a joke, and hubs stood by, arms folded, with that resigned look that artist’s spouses get sometimes. I pulled it on and looked in the mirror. I liked it, but I was completely unprepared for hubs’ reaction.

“You’re buying that.”

“What?”

“You’re buying that, and you’re going to wear it.”

“OK, I mean, I like it, but isn’t it a little crazy?”

“You’re wearing that to church tomorrow.”

“??!!!?!?”

He said he would buy it for me, but only if I was going to wear it. And by wear it, he meant out. In public. Anywhere I would wear my natural hair. It was an intimidating deal, but I took it. I walked out of the store wearing the blue bob. I wore it the next day to church, and have proceeded to wear it anywhere I would wear any other piece of jewelry or accessory in my wardrobe.

I’ve learned several things while wearing wigs in public.

  1. I’m OK with people staring at me. Some people aren’t. If you aren’t OK with that, and don’t think you can get used to it, don’t buy a wig.
  2. If you wear a wig that looks good on you, it “disappears”. By this I mean when I hang out with friends (even the ones who don’t get it, but love me anyway), within five minutes, everyone forgets I’m in a wig. It looks good on me, it becomes natural, and the conversation moves on.
  3. It weeded out my closet considerably. I bought a wig that is very “me”. Because of that, I soon discovered that much of my wardrobe didn’t work with it on, and hence most of my wardrobe is not “me”.
  4. Many people at church genuinely thought I was two people for several weeks. There was a girl with brown curly hair, then there was the short crazy blue haired chic that comes every now and then. Seriously.
  5. The church crowd in restaurants on Sunday afternoon give me pitying looks and tut tut to each other under their breath. It’s been eye opening to experience what an outsider feels like in my culturally “Christian” and predominately right wing fundamentalist and/or comfortably nominal city must feel like.
  6. I feel a lot more like me, and have discovered a lot of other things about my personality in the process.
  7. My church is amazing. I was nervous as heck the first time I wore the bob inside the hotel ballroom where our worship takes place each week. (I had no choice, remember?) I was overwhelmed by the positive response. They were so accepting, and surprisingly enough, it wasn’t even a big deal.

This isn’t a plug for wearing wigs, just for being yourself. Find out who you are, then be that person. Even in public. Even with other people around.

Wig #2

 

Sporting the bob while worshiping with my church family (who have been nothing but enthusiastic about the real me).

4 Responses to “On Wearing Wigs in Public”

  1. Hubs Says:

    You are as sexy as hell in those wigs.

    Damn straight I made you buy them.


  2. LOVE it! You really do sport the wig so naturally. You’re amazing.


Leave a Reply

