Home

A Book in Ten Days (Days 3 and 4)

August 22, 2011

The paper shipped today, hoorah! Hopefully I can begin work on the actual book in a couple of days.

Last night I worked briefly on a mock up and discovered that 3″x3″ is actually much too big for the book I envision. I’m going to mock up a 2″ version and see if I like that. If not I’ll keep shrinking it until it has the feel I want. I know I’m crazy, but I’ve been working on a 6″ book for months now and I’ve been longing for my first love — miniature books.

To qualify as a miniature, a book has to be under 3″ in every dimension. When I set out to make a miniature, I prefer pushing the limit, challenging myself to go smaller and more detailed than anyone else. My strong point is craftsmanship, and miniature artists books is a fantastic exploitation of my greatest gift.

In the meantime, check out these images from my favorite miniature book artist:

Please note: all these images are of miniature books by the extremely talented Elsa Mora. Please check out her blog to see more lovely images like these — I’m in awe of her gift!

8 Responses to “A Book in Ten Days (Days 3 and 4)”

  1. Olive Vaughn Says:

    This is my first time visiting myblacksketchbook, and I must say, these little books are quite lovely!


  2. Very inspiring. I am not talented in book making and book arts, but those are amazing. I wish you the best of luck with your challenge. You must be very patient.


    • Thanks for your kindness, but these books are not mine! Oh how I wish they were… you can see more of Elsa Mora’s beautiful work at elsita.typepad.com/miniatureartistsbooks.


      • I realized they weren’t yours, but you said craftsmanship was your strong point, and you love minature books, so I assume you are patient, and the images were inspiring regardless of who made them. And I wish you the best for when you do get started making your teeny tiny books:)


      • yes, I suppose patience is a must in the area of miniature books! Thank you so much for your encouragement! I hopped over to your blog and I must say that your multimedia stuff is really inspiring to me as well. Have you ever thought of trying a multimedia artists book? I’ve seen that combination done so successfully.


  3. I visual journal, but I don’t actaully make my own books. I would even know where to get started. I think I like the collaging of the pages more than the idea of making the book myself? I’m not sure. Thanks for taking the time to look at my blog too, that was sweet.


    • Making my own books puts me in control of the message and feel of the book. There are some really easy methods to start out with if you are interested. The one I recommend to friends is a simple accordion binding. Anyone who has ever folded a fan out of paper can make an accordion book (that’s why I use that form so much myself, haha!).
      P.S. I just posted my own miniature book on the blog, I’d love it if you’d take a look!


Leave a Reply

