Home

Whatever Came of a Drawing a Day?

July 11, 2011

Image: Kit Hinrichs 2011 typography calendar

I have not abandoned the 365 drawings in 365 days project — this is just an update. I’m currently on drawing #135. It’s currently day #192. Amazingly enough, I’m not discouraged by that. This summer has been amazingly busy at work, so missing a bit less than two months worth of drawing is about right. I do intend to catch up, though it may take me the rest of the year to do so! This is exactly why I undertook to average a drawing a day in 2011.

The drawing a day challenge is the most ambitious art task I’ve ever undertaken. I don’t consider that to be saying much about my discipline as an artist, which is the reason I challenged myself with it in the first place. I’m learning a lot about my style and about subjects “worthy” of a drawing or sketch. I’m so looking forward to the next 230 drawings!

Leave a Reply

