Home

Keeping it Real, or I Never Forget a Face

March 1, 2011

If you cringed when you looked at the above images, you had the same response I did. I keep making the same mistakes over and over. That same club jaw on women, square faces, large features, and other mistakes appear repeatedly like a bad habit. I took one look at my finished ballerina and my heart sunk. I’ve seen that face before. In fact I’ve been seeing that same face in my drawings since I was twelve.  In the drawing category, I think I’m being pretty kind to label myself “average.”

I’ve realized that I draw primarily because I like it. I find it relaxing and rewarding. I also draw for the discipline. Two months into a year long drawing-a-day challenge, I am finding consistency, something my drawing practice has always lacked.

I see some areas improving. I have confidence in my lines that I have never had before. My sense of scale and composition have both come a long way. On the other hand, these old familiar faces keep haunting me from my sketchbook.

How do you deal with those old tenacious mistakes?

 

Leave a Reply

